Home > Uncategorized > ACAS August 2015 Month in Review
11887969_882980798447583_6935641386131185850_n

August has certainly been a hot month! Did you take part in one or more of the amazing ACAS activities this August? Here is a re-cap of what happened:

 

Men’s Program Launches ACAS Men’s Program Launches SLAM! (Sex, Love, Asian, Men!) website, a New PSA “HIV Testing: As Easy As Ordering Bubble Tea”, and HumpDAY!

 slam_logo

The ACAS Men’s Program launched its new SLAM! (Sex, Love, Asian, Men!) website (http://slam.2016.acas.org/)!
SLAM micosite

About the SLAM! (Sex, Love, Asian, Men!) website:

SLAM! is the gay/bi Asian Men’s program created by Asian Community AIDS Services (ACAS) based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. The SLAM! website is a hub to curate relevant and interesting information for gay/bi Asian men.

ACAS’ Men’s Program aims to prevent the spread of HIV/AIDS among Asian men who have sex with men by promoting safer sex practices, harm reduction behaviours and early intervention in culturally relevant ways. Interactions with community members through our outreach activities at bathhouses, bars, and other community events have indicated a gap in the sexual health information being provided to our target population, Asian gay/bi men. Further, inconsistent and potentially unreliable or out-of date information is, we believe, contributing to inadequate sexual health-related decision-making among Asian gay/bi men

In November 2009, the ACAS Men’s Program piloted a sexual health symposium entitled Sex, Love, Asian Men!(SLAM!) in order to reach a broad audience as well as to identify gaps and barriers in Asian men’s sexual health education and service needs. The symposium was targeted to self-identified Asian gay/bi men from all ethnic backgrounds. Over 30 participants attended the inaugural event, which consisted of three interactive educational and knowledge translation workshops on sexually transmitted infections (STIs), risks, and HIV testing (Sex Without Fear), relationships (Sex and Relationships), and body image (Sex and Body Image).Workshops were facilitated by prominent members of the Asian community.

ACAS’ Men’s Program is committed to reaching the broader Asian male population using an inclusive, non-judgmental approach to identify and respond to the needs of our target population. To that end, we intend to expand the scope of our programming beyond HIV/AIDS, and plan to continue SLAM! yearly. We intend to build on our success by bringing together previous and new participants from across Ontario, and expanding our presenters and facilitators to relevant local, national and international, health-care providers, and front line workers who have expertise related to Asian men’s sexual health needs and concerns.

Visit the SLAM website here: http://slam.2016.acas.org/

The ACAS Mens’ Program is also making a callout to anyone who would like to make a contribution to the website in a form of (personal) stories related to being gay and Asian, sex, love, family, relationship, coming out, etc, or poems, or comics, pictorials, or anything that would rack up your creative juice. You can write it as yourself or use a pseudo name.

There will be a $30 honorarium for any article that is published. All you need to do is to email RichardRyan or Brian Tokisaru Ly. And if there is any article that is SLAM website worthy, please let us know, and we will publish it.

 

New PSA “HIV Testing: As Easy As Ordering Bubble Tea”

Testing as easy as ordering Bubble Tea

Are you nervous about getting tested for HIV? Now it is as simple as ordering a milk tea! Rapid HIV tests gives you results in minutes, and some clinics like the Hassle Free clinic offer anonymous testing.

Our new PSA shows what to expect when you go to get tested, and has been developed to help prevent the transmission of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections (STIs). The contents of the video are written and reviewed by health experts.

Filming and Editing: Hiroyuki Azuma
Music: © Bee Gees – Stayin’ Alive (Stereocool ‘To the Death’ Remix)

For more information on sexual health, healthy sexuality, and support for people living with HIV/AIDS, please contact ACAS (Asian Community AIDS Services):

Email: mensexualhealth@2016.acas.org or gaap@2016.acas.org or call 416-963-4300.

 

ACAS Mens Program Launches HumpDay!

ACAS Men's Hump Day Banner

Wednesdays can be the hardest day to get through during the week. Now you can look forward to a Gay Asian Social night every month! The first HumpDay took place on Wednesday, August 26 between 6:00 – 9:00PM and it was a fun movie night!

HumpDay is always a potluck, but each month will be something fun and different. If you are interested in joining HumpDay, please contact:

Ryan Tran
Men’s Program Coordinator
(416) 963-4300 ext. 236 ∙ mensexualhealth@2016.acas.org

Richard Utama
Men’s Sexual Health Coordinator
(416) 963-4300 ext. 235 ∙ men@2016.acas.org

Brian-Bao Ly
Men’s Outreach Worker
(416) 963-4300 ∙ gaap@2016.acas.org

Follow us! www.twitter.com/ACAStoronto
Like us! www.facebook.com/AsianCommunityAIDSServices

 

Stop by the ACAS office for your ‪#‎thesexyouwant jockstraps!!!

11834777_878826815529648_1682139508316844654_o (1)

Check out our boys at ACAS in Jockstraps! Come by our office and get your own ‪#‎thesexyouwant jockstraps for FREE! Join the movement! Talk about the sex you want now and you might win an Apple Watch! http://thesexyouwant.ca/. Don’t be shy!

 

Queer Asian Youths get active this summer!

Queer Asian Youth

Through the new initiative, Rice in Motion, our QAYers have been getting active through interactive sports and recreational activities!

11222635_848456928584044_6185170172690136363_n

On Saturday August 15, 2015, Rice In Motion – RIM and Malvern Family Resource Centre held a “Gotta Dodge ’em All! – Dodgeball Event”for all abilities. About 20 queer Asian youth participated at the sports event, got a chance to meet new people, eat great homemade food, and, yes, win prizes as well!

11949369_855559134540490_116113388335624997_n

On August 29, 2015 , Rice In Motion held a fun Capture the Flag Event. There were a lot of memorable moments and epic moves throughout the game. What a fun day!

If you have questions about Rice in Motion, please contact:
Email: qaysportsrec@2016.acas.org
Call: 416-963-4300 ext 229
Queer Asian Youth (QAY)

QAY is on Instagram!

Follow us @queerasianyouth!

11934991_1065011410190775_6519848050645300308_o

 

ACAS connects with the local Asian community at the Grange Festival and Chinatown Festival

It’ summertime and there are a number of community festivals that took place:

11802533_875927749152888_3349551694768414818_o

On August 7, 2015, ACAS outreached to the local Asian community at the Grange Festival.

 

11895019_884183368327326_7148232417591102320_o

On August 22 and 23, ACAS outreached at the Chinatown Festival. We would like to especially thank our very own ACAS Sailor Moon (Jolin Starr) for making the outreach so memorable for so many of our visitors and for helping us spread the sexual health messages to the community!

 

ACAS at the Toronto Police Services’ Chinese Consultative Committee (CCC) press conference for the 12th Annual Cops & Community Charity Event

11933424_884419051637091_2459182369585298612_n

On August 25, 2015, ACAS attended a press conference for the Toronto Police Services’ Chinese Consultative Committee (CCC) 12th Annual Cops & Community Charity Event to be held on September 9, 2015 at 6pm at the Casa Deluz Banquet Hall in Scarborough. We would like to especially thank the CCC for their years of support provided to ACAS and other community organizations.

Pictured above from L to R: Mr Ben Lau, Superintendent Dave McCormack, Toronto Police Diversity Manager and past ACAS board chair Andre Goh, ACAS Community Engagement Coordinator Christian Hui and TPS Community Liaison Officer Police Constable Quan Yang

 

ACAS Women’s Program: Cupcake making, Farewell to Cassandra, and Welcome Inex!

11954662_797328427032102_4361331298621400703_n

Look at these amazing cupcake creations from the ACAS Women’s Program Sexy Cupcakes social on August 26, 2015! It was so much fun! A special thank you to ACAS volunteers: Robin and Chuck for helping out.

Goodbye, Cassandra! Welcome Inex!

Goodbye Cassandra Dong, our former ACAS Women’s Program Coordinator. We wish you the best in your future endeavors and your studies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The following is a message from Cassandra:

Hi All,

I am writing to inform you that starting in September, I will no longer be ACAS’ Women’s Program Coordinator. For those of you who are curious, I will be taking the year to pursue my Master’s Degree in Anthropology and Women and Gender Studies at the University of Toronto.

During my year as Women’s Program Coordinator, I have had the pleasure of meeting many of you and have had the honour of learning with you. I want to thank you for allowing me to share these experiences with you. I hope that you have found great benefit in this year’s activities and look forward to seeing how the Women’s program will evolve as the years go on.

I would like to take this time to introduce the new Women’s Program Coordinator, Inex B Incubury. Inex’s background is in film, particularly theatre, and psychology. Some of her passions include fashion, glamour, performance, sex, trans issues, gender and sexual diversity.

All in all, Inex is passionate about equity and equality for all.

Inex is really interested in learning about what motivates YOU when it comes to the Women’s Program! Inex wants to know what YOU are interested in seeing this year. She welcomes any and all suggestions – so don’t be shy!

Warmly,
Cassandra Dong

11951534_798867466878198_3015874240035775901_o

Please say hi to Inex the next time you are at the ACAS office!

 

Support Program Annual Day Trip — Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament


MT1MT2

On Saturday, August 29, 2015, over 30 Support Program service users enjoyed a wonderful day at the ACAS Support Program Annual Day trip to the Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament. Each person enjoyed VIP seating, cheering banner, sourvenir program and experience a dungeon tour. To know more about the show, visit

 

#ACASturns20: What ACAS Means to Me

#ACASturns20 hashtag

This August, we are honoured to have Bosco Yan, long-time survivor, activist, and the recipient of the 2012 ACAS Patrick Truong PHA Leadership Award, to tell us what ACAS signifies to him.

Thank you Bosco for your years of dedication to ACAS and for your courage to speak up as an Asian living with HIV to raise awareness within the Asian community.

Download (PDF, 346KB)

 

Have you registered for the ACAS Scotia Run Challenge yet?

ACAS would like to give a big thanks to to our amazing volunteers like Anthony for running with us to raise fund! Join us for Scotiabank Waterfront Marathon 2015!

 

11856310_10206264162137750_3604660000751853802_o

 

Are you ready to run for a great cause and raise money for Asian Community AIDS Services (ACAS) to support East and Southeast Asians living with HIV in Toronto? Join ACAS at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon (STWM) Charity Challenge 2015 on Sunday, October 18, 2015 to help us reach our $20,000 goal! We invite each and everyone of you to take part of the challenge as a runner, walker, fundraiser, donor or supporter!

Run4ACAS Tumblr 2015 Banner

If you would like to register to become a runner and raise money for ACAS, you can register as a runner at https://secure.eventsonline.ca/reg/crs/.  As a runner/walker for ACAS, you can use the special Charity Pin Code15TSCC when you register after which you can choose Asian Community AIDS Services as your designated charity. This special Charity Pin Code allows you to register at the preferred charity rates: $40 for 5k; $50 for 5k with a single baby stroller; $80 for Half Marathon (21k) or Marathon (42k). Please make sure that you utilize the 15TSCC code when you register as ACAS will not be able to reimburse you after you have registered. The only exception is for the top 10 fundraisers whom ACAS will reimburse the amount of the registration to you after the race. Free Registration fee will be waived for first 3 PHAs to register with ACAS, and the top 10 fundraisers will have their entry fee refunded after the race. Also, there will be a prize for the top fundraiser, so start training and ask your network to sponsor you!

As the registration system has changed, please IGNORE the “DISCOUNT CODE” area on the top of the first page of your registration form; this is NOT where you put the Charity Pin Code. Also, as the registration system has been updated, all registrants MUST create a NEW username (the system will NOT allow you to use a username you have used in previous years). After you have inputted your information and agreed to the release waiver, you will be taken to the second page on the registration site. For the question “Would you like to participate in the Scotia Charity Challenge, please select “Yes.” Under the Charity Pin Code, enter 15TSCC. Under “I would like to,” please select “Create a Fundraising Account.” Under Charities, please select “Asian Community AIDS Services.”

tumblr_inline_nramxiG1hE1qhcv4p_500

If you are a PHA interested in running, please contact Andrew at support@2016.acas.org as the first 3 PHA will be eligible for free registration. If you are a youth (age < 29), please contact Euan at youth@2016.acas.org and let him know you are interested in registering and/or might need assistance with the registration cost.

After your finished registering, you will receive an email sent to you with a link to create your Fundraising Account and Page. When you press the link in the email, you will be directed to the Fundraising Page where you can log in with the same username and password you have used during your race registration process. Please feel free to personalize your fundraising page with your personal message, photos, videos as these personal touches will allow you to fundraise more effectively!

If you would just like to fundraise for ACAS without becoming a runner or walker, you can go to https://secure.e2rm.com/registrant/startup.aspx?locationID=164339, click “Sign Up”, then click “Create New Account” under “I Need to Create An Account” to create a fundraising profile without registering to become a runner or walker at the race.

If you would just like to make a single, one-time donation to Team ACAS at the 2015 Scotiabank Toronto Marathon, Half Marathon and 5k Charity Challenge, you can donate directly here by clicking on the following link: https://secure.e2rm.com/registrant/FundraisingPage.aspx?RegistrationID=2781968. Tax receipts will be issued for amounts over $20.00.

10603813_723749071037424_8588056321124260653_o 

Race kit will be available for pick-up on Friday, Friday, October 16th (11:00am to 8:00pm) and Saturday October 17th (10:00am to 6:00pm) at the Runner’s Expo at Hall D, Direct Energy Centre at Exhibition Place. You (or a friend) can pick up your race kit (Bib, Bib tag, T-shirt and goodie bag) at the Race Expo. To pick up your race kit, you MUST bring 1) your Bib # is (will be emailed to you on October 14 and posted on the online confirmation list and will be available for look up at the expo), and 2) you Photo ID OR a printout of your registration email confirmation (or have it on your smart phone to show the volunteers). If a friend/family member is picking up for you, they need to have: 1) Your Bib #; 2) an email or written permission from you (can be shown to volunteers from your smart phone); 3) A printout of your registration email confirmation (or have it on their smart phone to show the volunteers) OR a copy of your photo ID.

Last year, ACAS had 26 runners/walkers in five teams to rasie a total of $24,811at the 2014 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon, Half-Marathon and 5k, exceeding our $20,000 fundraising goal. This year, we are hoping to once again achieve or surpass our $20,000 fundraising goal as a way to finish celebrating our 20 years of community building and activism for the East and Southeast Asian HIV and LGBTQ communities in Toronto.

The funds raised will help ensure that our East and Southeast Asian service users living with HIV/AIDS can continue to receive the much needed culturally and linguistically appropriate services, to access emergency client funds to cover medication or emergency housing costs, and to apply for education allowance for education and training opportunities. The money raised will also help support the Ontario Positive Asians (OPA ) network that aims to bring all Asians living with HIV across the province together where they can connect with one another in a culturally-safe space and identify the needs most relevant to their well-being.

1913222_723748924370772_5396612054050753872_o

Please check out our ACAS Run4ACAS Tumblr site at http://run4acas.tumblr.com, and also the ACAS website (http://www.2016.acas.org) and ACAS Facebook Page (http://www.facebook.com/AsianCommunityAIDSServices) for news and updates.

Thanks for supporting ACAS and taking part of our ACAS 2015 Scotia Run Fundraising Challenge. If you have any questions regarding the run, please contact Christian Hui at community@2016.acas.org after August 3rd for further assistance.

 

See you next month for the ACAS September 2015 Update!