Home > Uncategorized > ACAS January 2015 Monthly Review
ACAS Happy New Year Year or Ram

We at ACAS hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season as well as a very happy new year! It’s hard to believe the month of January has already passed. We at ACAS would like to keep you updated on the many exciting activities we had as well as the work we have been doing to promote healthy sexuality and building a stronger community in the month of January 2015!

 

ACAS’ Open Letter On the Updated Ontario Sex Education and Health Curriculum

ACAS-Brochure-Image

In response to the recent spike in debates and news coverage on the updated sex education and health curriculum in Ontario schools to be introduced in September 2015, Asian Community AIDS Services (ACAS) would like to share an open letter to the community and express our opinions and views about the curriculum.

Download (PDF, 59KB)

You can access also the open letter here: ACAS Open Letter on the Updated Sex Education and Health Curriculum in Ontario Schools

Please feel free to share this letter with your networks.

 

Women’s Program and Women’s Support Program Joint Program Self-Defence Social Event

Women's Program Self-DefenceAs the new Ontario Sex Education Curriculum will incorporate the topic of the issues of Safety and Consent, Online Safety and the Risks of Sexting, it is very apt and timely that our Women’s Program and the Women’s Support Program held a very successful and well-attended joint-program  Self-Defence Social Event on January 8, 2015, to jumpstart the new year. We would like to especially thank our wonderful instructor, MaryCarl, a first-generation Pinay-Canadian womyn’s self defence instructor for a fun and informative self-defence workshop that is taught through an anti-oppression, feminist, anti-racist and queer-positive framework.

 

Men’s Program Safety and Consent Workshop 

Safety & Consent Workshop

Safety & Consent Workshop

While Safety and Consent is an issue that is relevant to all, it is rarely a topic that is talked about amongst men. Following the goal to promote healthy sexuality and enhance our service users’ abilities to negotiate safer sex practices, our Men’s Program held a SAFETY & CONSENT Workshop for Asian Gay/Bi Men on January 21, 2015. Attendees were able to discuss real life scenarios such as becoming better able to clarify situations where it is unclear if someone is interested or wants to have sex or not, whether consent has to be verbal or implicitly expressed, and how to approach the issue of consent when under the influence of alcohol and/or substances.

 

We Are Resilient! – AMP2R Community-based Research Launch 

AMP2R Community LaunchThe Asian MSM Pathways to Resiliency (AMP2R) Research Team invited community members to the official launch of the AMP2R Community Report, and to learn about the results and findings of the CIHR-funded community-based research conducted between 2012 to 2014 in the Greater Toronto Area to examine the resilience of Asian gay and bi men. The well-attended event was held at the Glad Day Bookshop on January 30, 2015 with over 40 participants learning and sharing our own resilience as a community. We would like to give special thanks to our four Resilience Ambassadors Roel, Levi, James and JR for sharing their personal stories with us, as well as Ryan Tran, Ray Garcia and Gerson Mobo for their contributions to the community report.

 

It’s Skating Time! 

Skating Event for Gay/Bi Men

Are you feeling this winter has been too cold and not getting enough opportunities to have fun outdoors? The ACAS Men’s Program had it’s SKATING at the Harbourfront Event for Gay/Bi Asian Men at the Harbourfront Natrel Rink on Sunday, January 25, 2015 for an afternoon of fun and physical activity. Could it be true that one of the attendees also executed a perfect triple axel that day?

 

Pagtitipon! Coming Together! 

Christian2

On January 17, 2015 CATIE, Migrante-Canada, Anakbayan Toronto and GABRIELA-Ontario organized a new community forum, Pagtitipon ! Coming Together to discuss different issues central to the Filipino community in Canada. ACAS’ Richard Utama and Christian Hui were invited to speak on the Race, Gender, Identity Panel on the AMP2R Study and the Straight Talk Program respectively. Thanks to Hywel Tuscano of CATIE for inviting us to such an amazing event!

 

Celebrating New Year with Thai Migrant Workers 

Migrant Worker Outreach

On January 11, ACAS organized 2 social events to celebrate New Year with 21 Thai migrant farm workers in Hamilton. The event included HIV/AIDS quiz game, dinner, and condom distribution. Special guest, Chris Ramsaroop of Justice for Migrant Workers, J4MW. Special thanks to volunteers: Gina, Nongluk, Romyen, and Orathai.

 

Diasporic Intimacies: Queer Filipinos/as and Canadian Imaginaries! Outreach

Queer Disaspora Intimacies OutreachDiasporic Intimacies: Queer Filipinos/as and Canadian Imaginaries is the inaugural event, the first of its kind in North America, brings together academics, artists, activists, and frontline community members as they examine and discuss the experiences of queer Filipinos/as in Canada. Through a series of connected and provocative events, this gathering aims to initiate rich dialogue between multiple stakeholders around the contributions and needs of queer Filipinos/as as a diasporic community with links within and beyond Canada. ACAS was proud to be an outreach partner to support this exciting on January 23, 2015 at the OCAD University.

 

Until next time! See you in February!