Home > Uncategorized > Think Pink – ACAS May 2015 Month in Review!
ACAS PinkDotTO2015 Parade (Ly - far)

May is Asian Heritage Month, and ACAS had an amazingly busy and impactful month celebrating the Asian heritage within our wonderfully diverse community!

 

Did you wear pink at #PinkDotTO 2015 to support the freedom to love?
ACAS PinkDotTO2015 Parade (Ly - Close up)

To much success, ACAS, in collaboration with the Canadian Chinese National Council (Toronto Chapter), held the second annual #PinkDotTO Chinatown LGBTQ + Allies Pride March on Saturday, May 16, 2015 one day ahead of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHOT). Close to 100 marchers all dressed in Pink supported LGBTQ rights within the Asian and broader community. The theme of this year’s #PinkDotTO is “Supporting the Freedom to Love!”, and we would like to thank our honorary guests Councilor Kristyn Wong-Tam, long-time ACAS supporter Olivia Chow, as well as all the mainstream and ethnic media partners OMNI Mandarin, CP24, CTV, CityTV, Singtao Daily, MingPao News, and Dushi.ca for the coverage of the event. For all the event photos and news archives of the event, please visit the ACAS Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/AsianCommunityAIDSServices

 

OMNI Mandarin’s special interview highlighting LGBTQ awareness in the Asian Community!
omni Lee Wei & Jenny
Aside from covering our ‪#‎PinkDotTO 2015 event where you would see a brief interview with our Queer Asian Youth Resource Development Lead Chuck Li, we would like to thank OMNI TV  for dedicating a news segment on the work of ACAS and LGBTQ issues during the OMNI Mandarin newscast on May 20, 2015. Watch the interview by news anchor Lee Wei and our very own ACAS Women Support Worker Jenny Cheng http://www.omnitv.ca/on/cmn/videos/4249957185001/!

 

ACAS presents community-based research study findings for Asian migrant farmworkers and Asian gay/bi men at CAHR2015


AMFW Research CAHR2015Christian AMP2R CAHR2015 with Dr. Mark Wainberg

ACAS, with a strong record of conducting community-based research that impact the community, presented two research study posters at the 2015 Canadian Association for HIV/AIDS Research 2015 which took place at the Toronto Metro Convention Centre between April 30 to May 3, 2015. In the top photo, ACAS Executive Director Noulmook Sutdhibhasilp and Constantine Cabarios, presented the Asian Migrant Farm Workers’ HIV Knowledge and Sexual Behaviours Study. In the bottom photo, Christian Hui, AMP2R Research Coordinator, is seen with internationally-renowned HIV researcher and activist Dr. Mark Wainberg, presenting the Asian MSM Pathways to Resiliency Study. You can access the online community reports for both studies here:

Asian Migrant Farm Worker’s HIV Knowledge and Sexual Behaviours Study: http://issuu.com/asiancommunityaidsservices/docs/acas_amfw_cbr_comm_reprt2014_final

Asian MSM Pathways to Resiliency Study: http://issuu.com/asiancommunityaidsservices/docs/amp2r_report_final_-_online_singlep

 

OPA+! The Ontario Positive Asians (OPA+) Network hosts its inaugural caucus for Asians living with HIV in Ontario!

Christian OPA 2015 Banner

The first-ever Ontario Postive Asians (OPA+) Caucus 2015 took place on May 23 with over 25 East, Southeast, South and West Asians living with HIV in Ontario attending the event. The Ontario Positive Asians (OPA+) Network is a network for and by Asians living with HIV in Ontario, and aims to: 
-connect Asians living with HIV/AIDS across Ontario;
-to collectively identify and act on issues most relevant to our well-being, and
-to promote solidarity among Asians living with HIV/AIDS with allies and supporters.

Ontario Positive Asians (OPA+) is a joint initiative supported by ACAS (Asian Community AIDS Services) and ASAAP.

 

Pillow Talk 2015!

Pillow Talk 2015

Thank you to all of our amazing panelists, facilitators, advisory committee and working group, and participants for a truly beautiful day!!! ‪#‎ACASPT ‪#‎Retali-Asian! Pillow Talk is a one day gathering for East and Southeast Asian Women and Trans* Women hosted by ACAS Women’s Program. We come together to share our lived experiences, find healing, and discuss various issues that affect our lives. This year’s conference will continue this mission of building solidarity and cultivating our community, and consisted of fun workshops and activities where participants had a chance to learn how to do Thai Massage and Parkour, and a safe space to discuss topics such as Sex and Pleasure, Healthy Relationships, and Combatting Street Harassment.

 

Spring has Sprung, and it’s Picnic Season! 

ACAS Support Program PicnicBoth the ACAS Support Program and Queer Asian Youth Program planned to have their annual picnics at High Park in May. High Park is known for its Cherry Blossoms in Spring and it was definitely a good way to welcome the Spring season being amongst a group of friends at this great space in the city. Although the youth picnic had to be rescheduled to an inside location due to rain, it was great fun nonetheless!

 

ACAS Support Program Events in May

Thank you to all the Mothers!

ACAS Support Program Mother's Day Brunch

May, aside from being the Asian Heritage Month, is also a special month as we celebrate the love and sacrafice which mothers give to their children on Mother’s Day. To that end, the ACAS Women’s Support Program held a special Mother’s Day Brunch at Friend’s House in early May. The group had intimate discussions about ways to makes better french toasts as well as the various matters and issues that impact women’s health and overall well-being.

ACAS Health Promotion Workshop – Time to Get Moving!

ACAS Health Promo Get on MovingThe ACAS Support Program would like to thank Dr. Stephanie Nixon at University of Toronto’s Department of Physical Rehabilitation for providing an engaging health promotion workshop on the benefits of physical activity on health for persons living with HIV on May 8, 2015. Stephanie has over 20 years in rehabilitation mainly focusing on HIV and with her wealth of knowledge and research in Canada and Africa this workshop will reassure about our whole body rehabilitation.

 

Queer Asian Youth Events in May

QAY Sings For Fun!


QAY Aries Singing for Love

Aries Cheung, a long-time ACAS supporter and member of the City Choir and vocal group “Singing for Now,” facilitated a Singing for Fun workshop for QAY members on May 9, 2015. In this workshop, Aries showed participants vocal warm-ups techniques, ways to sing in a group or choir, and also gave the group some wonderful performance tips!! Thank you Aries for all your support through the years!

Para Para!

1908129_994840603874523_1199589095814474700_n

To end the month, QAY held a Para Para Dance Workshop on May 30 with our Queer Asian Youth Resource Development Lead Chuck Yachun Li! In this fun workshop, Chuck taught us the very popular Japanese dance, Para Para! It’s certainly a night to remember!

 

ACAS as an Inside Out 2015 Community Sponsor for the screening of “How to Win Checkers (Every Time)”

Inside Out 2015

ACAS was the proud community sponsor for the Inside Out screening of “How to Win Checkers (Every Time)” to an full house on May 25, 2015. The Thai film was a touching recount of a young man love for his deceased gay older brother who was drafted into the national army. A big congratulations to the Inside Out Film Festival for 25 years of celebrating queer rights and films in Toronto

 

Welcome Ray Garcia, our Queer Asian Youth Sports & Recreation Trainer!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ray Garcia, QAY Sports & Recreation Trainer

Country of Origin: Hong Kong/Philippines

Language(s): Tagalog/English

How long you have worked at ACAS:Since May 2015

In one sentence, briefly describe what you like about your role/job at ACAS:

I really enjoy having the opportunity to engage and build community with other Queer Asian Youth though sports, recreational activities, and leadership opportunities.

Three Likes (it can be anything that you like): 

Being active, Sinigang, and Nicki Mina

Comment to site visitor (brief sentence of anything you would like to say to the site visitor or service user): Are you interested in sports and recreational activities? Do you have any suggestions for activities and workshops you’d like to see in the future? Do you want to meet other Queer Asian Youth in a supportive and welcoming space while trying new sports/recreational activities? Send me an email at qaysportsrec@2016.acas.org

Contact Information: Tel. (416) 963-4300 ∙ Email: qaysportsrec@2016.acas.org

 

June is Pride Month! Stayed tuned to find out all the amazing events that will take place as we celebrate LGBTQ rights through activism and fun!